Batman and Robin… part 2

14 Jul

Batman & Robin…part 2.

 

The first thing I noticed when we arrived at Rays was two scooters, that meant Melvin and Richard were there. The next thing that was more conspicuous by its absence was that Ray’s dad’s car was not there. So the concern about his parents being there was ill founded. I commented on the fact and Toms reply was that it was better to be safe than sorry and that we, meaning I, had better check just in case his dad had dropped his mum off and gone down the club. A wise precaution, I thought, as Rays dad was a pal of my dad’s.

Well, when we walked in we could see that the racing cars had been abandoned so I looked in the front room to see if his mum was sitting there. The room was empty but the fire was still blazing away though. Funny how silly insignificant things stick in one’s mind; I remember thinking what an extravagant waste!
(I was to find out much later that that was not the case; Ray liked to fuck in front of a blazing fire!)

 

Tom and Rod leaving me to check the front room had gone into the back room and I could hear Ray admonishing them…”About time too, Tom. Where have you been? What’s kept you? We’ve been waiting ages and almost about to give up and start without you.”

“Start what?” I asked as I quickly followed them into the room.

They ignored my question.

“Oh, the dynamic duo…Rod’l l tell you about it.” He replied, and left it at that as he pushed past me muttering something about the car.

I had now noticed who was there; a room full already, waiting for us, why? (I could be so naive at times.)
I noticed Linda and Dave; they had been a bit anti-social off late so it was a nice surprise to see them there. Linda was squashed between Dave and Garry…no sign of Amanda. On the far side of the room were Richard and Mel – I had noticed their scooters outside – they were sitting on the floor sorting through a pile records. I could also hear that someone, or more, was in the kitchen. Rays mum, or maybe Amanda? So I went through to see and say hello. But no, it was neither, it was Sylvia clattering about in the process of making a brew.

We chatted for a minute or two about the prospect of Ray surviving long without his mum to look after him.
“You watch.” She said. “Be like a shit hole in a few weeks.”
I couldn’t but agree with her and told her that my mum was always saying that my dad and brother haven’t the faintest idea of how to keep house and home clean and tidy and that laundry is done by magic!
After a few more observations, to our amusement, at Rays pending domestic doom, I went to see who it was that we had just heard come in.

What a surprise! Anne and Brian had just walked in. They like Linda and Dave had also as a couple been a bit anti social for a several weeks. Anne waved to me but before either of us could say owt Ray wanted to show them around.
“Tea or coffee?” was all I got out as Ray was ushering them back into the hall way. “Yes please.” Was the reply. Oh, phooey! I went back and told Sylvia it was tea for everybody.
“Bollocks” she said handing me two mugs. “That’s you and Tom, the others can jolly well get their own,” and followed me into the room with her own and a mug for Ray, “I’m no skivvy!”

Tom looked up, “Thanks Joy we’ll have this then we will have to go if we’re going to have some time on our own. Don’t forget your dad wants you back home on Sundays by ten.”

“Oh that’s a shame, Tom.” It was Linda. “We were hoping you would both be interested in a game of high-low, but never mind, why don’t we all meet here for a game Tuesday evening?”

“That’s a good idea Linda. You up for that Joy?”

“What’s high-low Tom?” I asked.

“I will explain on the way home, come on drink up.”

Ray returned with Anne and Brian just as Dave was saying that he would sort it out with Ray and that it was a shame we were so late as they were all looking forward to it.

“Sort what out Dave?”

On their entrance Tom announced that “We’ve got to go now Ray. Does anyone want a lift into town?”

So much for being on our own I thought. I looked around, no takers, great!

So that’s why he went back to the car; spread over the front seat was my towel. Not only that, the back seat was covered too! No wonder he was so keen to get away. I was keen now too and even as we were saying our goodbyes I was getting my kit off. Then just as we had started to drive away…Garry and Rod were shouting for us to stop. I stopped removing my clothes. “They mean me Joy not you.” I knew what that meant and I started getting that tingling feeling. This was going to be an interesting day after all.

 

Leave a Reply

